Finalists Announced for 2023 NVTC Greater Washington Technology CFO Awards

The Northern Virginia Technology Council (NVTC), the trade association representing the region’s technology community, today announced the finalists for its 27th annual Greater Washington Technology CFO Awards. These awards recognize CFOs and finance leaders for their extraordinary achievement and excellence in advancing the economic development of our region’s technology community.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, June 5, 2023, at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner in McLean, Virginia.

“Our region continues to be a hotbed of innovation that supports technology companies throughout the growth curve continuum — including early and mid-stage technology companies to mature market leaders,” said Shiv Varma, KPMG partner, and chair of this year’s CFO Awards program. “CFOs and finance executives play a pivotal role in making our technology ecosystem as successful and vibrant as it is today.”

“NVTC’s Technology CFO Awards represent an important moment in time to pause and reflect on how far our technology community has come,” said Jennifer Taylor, president and CEO of NVTC. “This year’s finalists are an outstanding, talented group of financial executives who have contributed to advancing the collective growth of our region’s technology hub, which is regarded as one of the leading hubs in the nation. Congratulations to this year’s nominees.”.”

New this year, the judges will select a chief financial officer, from the public, private or emerging growth category finalists, who has exceeded the traditional expectations of a CFO. These actions include — but are not limited to — transforming their company, implementing new and innovative technologies, and making a positive contribution to their community. The winner will be announced at the June celebration.

NVTC will also announce Rick Nadeau as the 2023 winner of the Michael G. Devine Hall of Fame Award, to recognize him for his contributions to our region’s technology community over his career.

An independent panel of former CFO Awards winners selected finalists in four award categories.

The 2023 NVTC Technology CFO Awards finalists are:

Emerging Growth CFO of the Year:

Susan Bittle, Organizational Development Resource Group, LLC

Rick Heath, Erickson Immigration Group

Yuctan Hodge II, Evans Consulting

Mike Kalten, Whisker Labs

Gregory Shanahan, StraighterLine

Andrew Volkmann, FranConnect

Private Company CFO of the Year:

Jonathan Boldt, Inovalon

Jeff Cook, Octo

Daniel Ehrmantraut, Applied Information Sciences (AIS)

Joe Harar, EdgeConneX

Silvana Hernandez, Pavion

Andy Ivanovich, The Knot Worldwide

Tamara Jack, LMI

Jansen Whitlock, Modus Create

Public Company CFO of the Year:

Michael Dippold, Leonardo DRS, Inc.

Kathryn JohnBull, DLH

Susan Lynch, V2X, Inc.

2023 Class of Rising Stars:

Zach Blaine, Expel

Paul Donnell, FiscalNote

Emily Lane, Arcfield

Tim Mulieri, GTT Communications, Inc.

Matthew Robarge, Cision

Samantha Ross, Unanet

Amanda Williams, IonQ

About the Northern Virginia Technology Council

NVTC is the trade association representing the Northern Virginia technology community. As one of the nation’s largest technology councils, NVTC serves companies from all sectors of the industry, from small businesses and start-ups to Fortune 100 technology companies, government contractors, as well as service providers, academic institutions, and nonprofit organizations. More than 450 members look to the organization as a resource for networking and educational opportunities, peer-to-peer communities, policy advocacy, industry promotion, fostering of strategic relationships, and branding of the region as a major global technology center. Learn more at

Written by Shantel

Michael Italiano Named Chief Financial and Chief Investment Officer of the Dohmen Company Foundation

Southern First Appoints Andy Borrmann As Chief Financial Officer